Assistant Constitution

Indian Constitution – 05

ഭരണഘടനയുടെ ഒന്നാം ഭാഗം, സംസ്ഥാനങ്ങളുടെ രൂപീകരണം, പുനരേകീകരണം തുടങ്ങിയ കാര്യങ്ങളാണ് ഇന്നത്തെ പാഠത്തിൽ ഉൾപ്പെടുത്തിയിരിക്കുന്നത്.

  • Article 1 of India constitution defined India as

India, that is Bharat, shall be a Union of states


  • Indian constitution is described as

Federal in term but unitary in nature


  • Nature of Indian constitution is called as



  • First part of Indian constitution is discussing about

Union and its Territory


  • Who has the privilege to form new states, alter the boundaries, rename states etc



  • Reason for calling India as “Indestructible union of destructible states”

The very existence of a state depends upon Parliamnet\Centre


  • Example of “Indestructible union of Indestructible states”

American Federation


  • Majority needed to form a new state by the parliament is

Simple Majority


  • Article deals with formation of new states

Article 3


  • Parliament bill related to the formation\alteration of states needs prior recommendation from

The President


  • No of princely states at the time of Indian Independence



  • The three princely states which not joined Indian union at the time of Independence

Kashmir, Junagarh, Hyderabad


  • Princely state which was added to India through the Instrument of Accession



  • Princely state which was added to India through referendum



  • Princely state which was added to India through Military operation



  • Military operation by India to annex Hyderabad to the Union

Operation Polo


  • Man behind the unification of India

Sardar Vallabhai Patel


  • Secretary to the department of states which formed for the unification of princely states

VP Menon


  • Malayali who supported Sardar Patel for the unification of princely states

VP Menon


  • Chairman of the linguistic provinces commision appointed by Govt of India in 1948

SK Dhar


  • Members of the linguistic provinces committee (JVP Committee) appointed by INC 1948

Jawaharlal Nehru, Vallabhai Patel, Pattabhi Sita Ramayya


  • First state formed on the base of language



  • Andhra state formed on

1953 October 1st


  • Revolutionary who lost his life in hunger strike for Andhra state

Potty Sreeramulu (56 days hunger strike)


  • Revolutionary, who called as “Amarajeevi”

Potty Sreeramulu


  • Chairman of State re-organization commission appointed by Govt of India in 1953

Fazal Ali


  • Other members of Fazal Ali commission

Sardar KM Panicker and HN Khunsru


  • State re-organization Act 1956 is recommended by

Fazal Ali Commission


  • No of states and Union Territories formed on 1956 Nov 1

14 states and 6 Union Territories


  • States and formed on 1956 Nov 1

Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bombay, Jammu and Kashmir, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Madras, Mysore, Orissa, Punjab. Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal


  • Union Territories formed on 1956 Nov 1

Himachal Pradesh, Andaman Nicobar, Delhi, Lakshadweep, Manipur and Tripura


  • Criterion for State re-organization in 1956 was



  • The 15th State of India

Gujarat (1960)


  • The 25th State of India

Goa (1987)


  • Goa liberated from Portuguese in



  • The 26th State of India

Utharakhand (2000)


  • The 27th State of India

Chathisgad (2000)


  • The 28th State of India

Jharkhand (2000)


  • The 29th State of India

Telangana (2014 June 2)

(To be continued…)