Assistant Facts on Kerala

Districts of Kerala – Alappuzha

  • Year of formation: 1957, August 17


  • Alappuzha is the smallest district in the area.


  • It is the 2nd most densely populated district in Kerala.


  • The birthplace of Velakali.


  • The first post office (Anchalappees) in Travancore established at Alappuzha in 1857.


  • Alappuzha is the only district in Kerala without any forest cover.


  • Backwater tourism is very popular in Alappuzha district.


  • Alappuzha was the capital of the ancient ‘Ambalapuzha Kingdom’.


  • Alappuzha, known as the ‘Venice of the East’, was a major trade centre in Kerala.


  • The first Thermal Power Project in Kerala is built at Kayamkulam in Alappuzha district.


  • Alappuzha is the centre of coir industry.


  • The second largest producer of Paddy in Kerala is Alappuzha district, the first being Palakkad district.


  • Vembanad Lake is the largest lake in Kerala.


  • Pathiramanal Island, Thanneermukkam bound etc. are in Vembanad lake.


  • The famous Nehru Trophy Boat Race (Prime Minister Trophy) is held annually in Punnamaa lake.


  • ‘Pakshi gramam’ of Kerala is Nooranadu


  • Raja Kesavadas built the town of Alappuzha.


  • The taluk with the longest coastline in Kerala, Cherthala, is in Alappuzha district.


  • The two famous Snake boat races in Kerala are held at Punnamada backwater (Nehru Trophy Snake boat race) and Champakkulam (Moolam Snake boat race), both are in Alappuzha district.


  • Lord Krishna temple at Ambalapuzha called ‘Dwaraka of the south’, Nagaraja Temple at Mannarassala and St. George Shrine at Edathua are in Alappuzha district.


  • Kuttanad in Alappuzha district is called the Gift of Pampa. It lies about 0.5 m to 1.5 m below sea level. This region is formed by the alluvial deposits of rivers Meenachil, Pampa, Manimala and Achenkovil. It is called the ‘Holland of Kerala’.